Mittenz with a set

While waiting for the sunlight to come out, so I can take a good picture of the finished Owl in Tree mitten, I give you Mittenz:

I wrote in the Either Or post a little tip about doing an simple and easy project alongside a very complicated one. Well Mittenz was my easy project. I often do this when I’m working with something complicated as I have moments I just need to knit – not think. These were in the poll alongside Either Or Mittens for the first round of Technical Time. They didn’t win or come close, but I had to try them out!

Mittenz. Pattern by Mariella Apadaco. Knit by Anne Grove.

The pattern is made by Mariella Apodaca and is available for free on her blog here. I love the pattern as it’s a mitten done a 100% in stockinette stitch AND it’s knit flat. This means it’s a nice project for the beginner and an easy one for an experienced, however not too boring for you to loose your interest. I’m quite into those where everybody can be in. The pattern is sized for child or small woman but can easily be accommodated for bigger sizes.

This mitten differs from traditionally knit mittens as it’s not only knit flat it’s also knit sideways. You use increase and decrease to shape thumb and fingertip and knit in garter stitch which makes the mitten have a ribbing effect and gives it a snug fit around the hand. So don’t be alarmed if you think it looks ‘skinny’ It’s intensional 😉

The Mittenz mitten not sewn together.

Her pattern is written out, row by row. Personally I prefer my patterns as short and cut to the bone so this is a bit too much for me. I normally write those patterns down in the abridged version, and this one didn’t take more space than an A5. Perfect for having in the bag with you on the go!

The material was Ragg-Strømpegarn from Hjerte Garn in variegated blues. A skein didn’t quite do it, so I have an almost full skein to use for something else. Any suggestions?

Mittenz

Notes and thoughts

1. When choosing your stitch markers (you need two) use two different from each other! I confused myself to begin with a lot because I had only one kind of stitch marker.
You are working flat so you are turning your work again and again and it’s easy to forget which marker is fingertip and which is thumb.

2. I found when sewing the mitten together it makes the nicest seam if you lie the work flat and sew it together rather than sow with back loop stitches.

Apodaca has more mittens knit sideways in a bit more complex version: Longway sideways mittens and Original sideways mittens. This, mittenz, is however the simplest version as you don’t have to make new stitches only cast off.

One thought on “Mittenz with a set

  1. Pingback: Either Or off the needles? |

Leave a Reply

